January 3, 2022 Reorganization Meeting – Council Chambers Millersburg, Pennsylvania

<u>Meeting Call to Order</u> – Mayor Elect Alan Bowman called to order the Reorganization Meeting of the Millersburg Borough Council at 7:00PM with Cl'ms Hoch and Snyder present. Cl'ms Elect Boyer, Dietz, Hoffman and Hoke and Manager Buker and Secretary Jackson were also present. The invocation was given by Mayor Elect Bowman, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Guests - Sandy Bowman, Steven Bowman, Shayla Bowman, TynNeyl Hoffman and children, Alex Reber

Mayor Elect Bowman declined his seat as a Councilman due to accepting the position of Mayor.

<u>Presentation of Certificates of Election</u> – Secretary Jackson reported that all six Certificates of Election have been received.

<u>Swearing in of Newly Elected Council Members</u> – Secretary Jackson administered the Oath of Office to Alan D. Bowman as Mayor, Brent E. Boyer, Christopher C. Dietz, Skyler J. Hoffman and Adam G. Hoke as Councilmembers and Alexander R. Reber as Tax Collector.

All guests then left the meeting.

<u>Nomination and Election of Council President</u> – Mayor Bowman conducted the election of Council President, calling for nominations. Cl'm Snyder nominated Cl'm Dietz for President. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and Mayor Bowman declared Cl'm Dietz Borough Council President.

<u>Nomination and Election of Council Vice President</u> – Mayor Bowman called for nominations for Council Vice President. Cl'm Hoch nominated Cl'm Boyer for Vice President. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and Mayor Bowman declared Cl'm Boyer Borough Council Vice President.

The meeting was then turned over to President Dietz.

<u>Nomination and Election of Council President Pro-Tempore</u> – President Dietz called for nominations for Council President Pro Tempore. Cl'm Boyer nominated Cl'm Hoch for the office of President Pro Tempore. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and President Dietz declared Cl'm Hoch as Borough Council President Pro Tempore.

<u>Appointment of Vacancy Board Chairman</u> – No action taken. President Dietz directed Manager Buker to advertise this position and all other vacancies on the Borough's website and Facebook page.

<u>Appointment of Solicitor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to reappoint Terrence J. Kerwin of Kerwin and Kerwin as Borough Solicitor for the next two years. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Engineers</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoke, seconded by Cl'm Snyder to appoint Gannett Fleming as Borough Engineers for the next two years. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator</u> – Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to appoint Barry Isett as the Borough's Building Code Administrator. Motion carried. Manager Buker was directed to ask them their ability to fulfill additional positions. Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Snyder to appoint Commonwealth Code Inspection Services as the Borough's Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator. Motion carried Appointment of Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator – Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Hoke to reappoint Sean Grimm and John Brabits as Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator respectively. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Borough Manager</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to reappoint Kayla Buker as Borough Manager. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Secretary-Treasurer</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoch, seconded by Cl'm Hoke to reappoint Ann Bowman Jackson as Borough Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried.

<u>Millersburg Planning Commission – Appointment to Four-Year Term</u> – Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Hoffman to reappoint Brent Boyer and Yvonne Miller to four-year terms on the Millersburg Planning Commission. Motion carried. In light of Gary Ibberson's health issues, he is unable to finish the remaining year of his term. Cl'm Hoffman expressed interest in serving and nominated himself for a one-year term; seconded by Cl'm Hoke. Motion carried.

<u>Millersburg Fire Company #1 Auditor – Borough Representative</u> – No action taken. President Dietz directed Manager Buker to advertise this position on the Borough's website.

<u>Upper Dauphin Industrial Development Authority – Appointment to a Five-Year Term</u> – Secretary Jackson reported that there is a vacancy. No action taken. President Dietz directed Manager Buker to advertise this position on the Borough's website.

<u>Zoning Hearing Board – Appointment to Three-Year Term</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to reappoint Joelle Conshue to a three-year term on the Zoning Hearing Board. Motion carried.

<u>Property Maintenance Appeals Board – Appointment to Three-Year Term</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoffman seconded by Cl'm Snyder to reappoint Erick Wolochuk to a three-year term on the Property Maintenance Appeals Board. Motion carried.

Unfinished Business

<u>Storm Sewer Renovation Project Reevaluation</u> – Gannett Fleming is working on their presentation. Council is undecided on asking for specific calculations, which would be an additional expense. Manager Buker added that the Borough's PA DCED application for funding may be in jeopardy due to engineering delays. There is a Zoom meeting scheduled with the Gannett Fleming representatives. Cl'ms Boyer, Dietz and Hoch will be participating in the meeting, as well as Manager Buker.

New Business

<u>Borough Resolution No. 22-01</u> – This resolution authorizes Alexander Reber as the elected Tax Collector, to appoint the County of Dauphin and Dauphin County Treasurer as a Deputy Tax Collector. Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Hoch to approve Borough Resolution No. 22-01 as presented. Motion carried.

<u>Dauphin County Treasurer Tax Collector Agreement</u> – This agreement sets forth the Treasurer's duties for collection of the real estate taxes for the four-year term. Motion by Cl'm Hoke, seconded by Cl'm Snyder to approve the Agreement as presented. Motion carried.

<u>Dauphin County Tax Collection Committee Invitation</u> – Outgoing Chairman Skip Memmi has invited Secretary Jackson to serve on the newly formed Executive Management Committee and Secretary Jackson has expressed her desire to do so. Motion by Cl'm Hoke, seconded by Cl'm Snyder to approve the request as presented. Motion carried. <u>Committee Assignments</u> – The following Committee Chairmen were named:

Employee Relations Committee – Cl'm Snyder Finance and Risk Management Committee – Cl'm Hoffman Parks & Recreation Committee – Cl'm Boyer Property Committee – Cl'm Hoke Public Safety Committee – Cl'm Snyder Streets Committee – Cl'm Hoch Economic Development Committee – Cl'm Dietz

President Dietz announced the next meeting which is set for January 12, 2022 at 7:00PM.

Motion by Cl'm Snyder, seconded by Cl'm Hoke to adjourn the meeting at 8:37PM. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann Bowman Jackson Borough Secretary